August Favourites

Winnie the Pooh

I’ve been reading more than ever during the past few weeks, and even though most of the books I read were absolutely amazing, the one I instantly thought of when I wanted to pick a favourite, is actually a children’s book.

When I spotted Winnie the Pooh at a little bookshop for only 2£, I decided to pick it up for old time’s sake, without really intending to read it. However, when I finished my other book and still had an half hour bus journey in front of me, I decided that reading Winnie the Pooh would probably still better than nothing.

After only one page I immediately got why I’d loved it so much when I was younger, and couldn’t help but laugh out loud at Pooh and his friends every few seconds. In fact, I enjoyed myself so much that I nearly forgot to get off at my stop.

So, no matter how old you are, I’d absolutely recommend the stories from the Acre Wood, they’re so relaxing to read and will brighten your day instantly!

img_8936

 

 

Shakespeare Insult Generator

If you are looking for a present for a friend who likes Shakespeare, this is absolutely perfect. Much like the similar websites you might already know, this little book helps you come up with typically shakespearian insults, which are literally the funniest thing on earth.

To say it in Shakespeare’s words: anyone who wouldn’t enjoy this book is a deceptious pigeon-livered stockfish!

 

 

Pin Badges

If you, like me, collect buttons, but usually lose half of them or don’t know where to put them because they’re too big, you might wanna try getting pin badges instead. They’re usually smaller, don’t break as easily and look a lot cuter on rucksacks. Just pick one up whenever you travel somewhere new and carry a bit of your favourite places around with you wherever you go!


 

Coasters

As someone who drinks at least 2 litres of tea every day, and has mugs standing around literally everywhere, it’s quite a shame I never had coasters before. Luckily, I recently spotted these at Afflecks Palace and simply had to buy them. Aren’t they the cutest thing you’ve ever seen?

 

 

Planner

I’ve always been terrible at using planners at school because I preferred to simply scribble lots of messy notes in my journal, but I thought getting one for uni would be good nonetheless, because – let’s be honest – it’s about time I get a bit more organised.

Surprisingly, I’ve actually used my planner a lot since I got it and even feel like I’ve been much more productive because I seem to get more stuff done if I write it on my to-do list for the day and am able to tick off the box once I am finished.

 

GBBO

For anyone who isn’t  familiar, the Great British Bake Off is a baking show where 12 contestants have to compete against each other in a signature challenge, a technical challenge and a showstopper challenge every week. There’s a different theme for each show and the bakes are judged by Paul Hollywood and Mary Berry, who also decide which baker has to leave the tent at the end of every episode. All in all, it’s the funniest, most intense, emotional and simply best show that has ever been made. (Not even an exaggeration)

I think I’m rooting for Val and Andrew this year, but I do love all of the contestants, so it’s definitely very hard to pick a favourite. Do let me know whom you want to win in the comments!

377472b400000578-3751603-image-a-48_1471790650109-1

 

 

Carrot Cake

I’m not very good at baking, but watching the Bake Off and seeing the amazing creations the contestants are making got me so hyped that I felt like I at least had to try.

Obviously, I knew I couldn’t really start off with a giant gingerbread showstopper, and instead decided to try a traditional carrot cake, which turned out to be the absolute best thing I’ve ever made in my entire life. Honestly, I still dream about it every night, it was that good.

(I used the recipe from the BBC food website , here’s the link if you wanna give it a whirl as well)

 

Zoella Body Mist

I’m a big fan of all of Zella’s beauty products, but ever since I got her new body mist, I’m absolutely obsessed. It’s supposed to smell of macaroons, which I don’t normally like that much, but the scent is absolutely gorgeous and I’ve literally sprayed it on all of my belongings.

 

York

Have you ever gotten off a train somewhere and instantly knew you were going to fall in love with that place? That’s what happened to me when I went to York. I didn’t actually know that much about the city when I went, but as soon as I arrived, I was already planning my future life there because it simply seemed like the ultimate perfect place. I loved to cute little cobbled streets, the market, the tiny independent shops, the city walls and how you could tell the place has a lot of history and honestly wished I could quit uni and move there immediately. So if you’re ever in the north of England, do make a little trip there, it’s absolutely beautiful!

Leave a Reply

