Vegan Chocolate Carrot Cake – a recipe for anyone who doesn’t actually have a clue about baking 

As I’ve probably mentioned before, I’m more of a thinker than a hands-on kind of person, thus baking isn’t really one of my strengths. This morning, however, I decided to give it a whirl anyways and even came up with my own recipe! (Mostly because I couldn’t find anything I had all the ingredients for and couldn’t be bothered to go to the supermarket, but let’s just pretend I wanted to be innovative.) 

This recipe is super simple, so I can assure you that you’ll be able to make a more or less presentable cake with this even if you are as unexperienced in baking as I am. I mean, my parents are always surprised I didn’t burn the kitchen down whenever I try to cook or bake something, so you can probably imagine how skilled I am. Anyroad, enough of me rambling, here comes the recipe!

Ingredients:

  • 250g grated almonds (walnuts or hazelnuts work just as well)
  • 300g flour
  • 200g cane sugar
  • 1 packet of baking powder
  • 1 packet of vanilla sugar
  • 1 packet of grated orange peel
  • 50g margarine 
  • 150ml soy milk
  • 150ml coffee
  • 1 grated carrot
  • dark chocolate drops
  • couverture for the icing 

Preparation:

  1. Mix all the dry ingredients together in a bowl
  2. Add coffee and soy milk, scramble with a blender
  3. Add remaining ingredients and stir until all the lumps have gone
  4. Pre-heat the oven to 180C 
  5. Put the dough into a greased baking tin
  6. Pop it in the oven and wait for around 60min (Fun fact: Today, I had my cake dough in the oven for 40min and kept wondering why there was no change until I realised I hadn’t even turned it on. How am I allowed to write a post on baking?)
  7. Take your cake out, let it cool down for a bit and finally add icing and other decorations if you like! 

It tastes a lot better than it looks, I promise!
Let me know if you try this out and leave a comment if you test out any other variations of the recipe! Hope you’re having a lovely day x

Leave a Reply

