Albums That Changed My Life

Hi everyone! It’s been a while since I last posted on here which is mainly because I’m in the middle of A-Level exams and busy pretending to study, but I just got a notification saying that it’s my blog’s first anniversary today which reminded me how much I’ve actually missed writing blogposts.

A few days ago, I was looking through my Youtube subscription box and came across Emma Blackery’s “Albums That Changed My Life” video, which I found so interesting and entertaining to watch that I immediately thought of doing something similar in a written form on here. I originally only wanted to choose 5 albums, but I’m a nightmare at making decisions, so I might have gone a little overboard. But at least there’s gonna be something for everyone’s taste now, innit?

 

“+” by Ed Sheeran

81Nga9IJojL._SL1425_I’m not even exaggerating when I’m saying that this album made me fall in love with music. Of course, I’d always enjoyed listening to music on the radio and had even bought some CDs of my own, but I suppose when I started listening to Ed Sheeran at the age of 13, that was the first time I truly felt it.

This album still feels like home to me and even though I’ve listened to it so often that I should be hating it at this point, it’s probably still my favourite one of all time.

Favourite songs: Wake Me Up (that one will never fail to make me cry), Drunk

Favourite lyrics: “Be a true heart, not a follower”

 

 

“Night Visions” by Imagine Dragons

night-visionsActually, I don’t even listen to this one that much anymore, but since I still know the words to every single song, it wouldn’t have felt right to leave it out.

Also, Imagine Dragons were one of the first bands I saw live and their concert was definitely the one that got me into going to gigs more often. You should really go to one of their shows if you have the chance to, they’re absolutely brilliant on stage!

Favourite song: Demons

Favourite lyrics: “It’s time to begin, isn’t it? /  I get a little bit bigger but then I’ll admit / I’m just the same as I was / Don’t you understand? / I’m never changing who I am”

 

“American Idiot” by Green Day

57457a72ce9e2072e81e5bbccf45cbf9ccae3a31This one I had to mention because I listened to it ages before I even properly got into punk and rock at all.

It’s not only a masterpiece, but also an absolute classic that I feel like everyone should’ve listened to at least once in their life. In fact, if you haven’t, go listen to it now, you won’t regret it!

Favourite songs: Holiday/ Boulevard of Broken Dreams, Wake Me Up When September Ends

Favourite lyrics: “My shadow’s the only one that walks beside me / My shallow heart’s the only thing that’s beating / Sometimes I wish someone out there will find me / ‘Til then I walk alone”

 

“Homesick” by A Day To Remember

AdaytorememberHOMESICKSince I already left doodles of the “American Idiot” album cover literally everywhere I went, it was only a matter of time till I started getting into some more punk rock music.

However, I didn’t stick with the “typical” stuff so to say. At 14, after having read about them on twitter, I decided to check out a band called “A Day To Remember” and as soon as I clicked play, I knew this was exactly what I’d been looking for all my life. And this is how the never-ending love story of pop punk and me began.

Favourite songs: Have Faith In Me, If It Means A Lot To You (Shoutout to Mia if you’re reading this, I’ll always remember (pun intended) our holiday in Turkey when we wouldn’t stop listening to this song for days. Love you!! xx)

Favourite lyrics: “I’m holding on to a fairytale / We’re moving forward but we’re not there yet”

 

“Dirty Work” by All Time Low

tumblr_nfu4kvSeVJ1u2bwjoo1_500Even though I didn’t really listen to anything but ADTR for a few months, convinced my parents to let me go to their concert (I embarrassingly cried so much about not being able to see them live that they felt sorry for me and eventually allowed me to go. However, I understood why they’d been reluctant about it as soon as the concert started as I nearly got squeezed to death by some ridiculously tall and muscular punks, but it was more than worth it nevertheless!), and refused to wear anything but ripped jeans and their tour shirt for half an eternity, I eventually wanted to check out some more bands.

This was around the time I got more active on tumblr, where I first heard about All Time Low. Ever since I ordered “Dirty Work” off of Amazon with my last 8 Euros and first put it into my CD-player, this band has been one of my absolute favourites. I even got the chance to see them at a signing where I awkwardly high-fived Jack and forgot how to speak when Alex asked me a question, and go to one of their gigs, which was probably one of the best things that ever happened to me.

Favourite songs: Do You Want Me (Dead?), A Daydream Away

Favourite lyrics: “You’re just a daydream away / Wouldn’t know what to say / If I had you”

 

“Infinity On High” by Fall Out Boy

prev-9SyOdYSaebENot long after that, I was having a look around my favourite record store like nearly every Saturday, when a kind of weird looking CD caught my eye. It was one of those double CDs that include two albums and since it was cheap and the band name reminded me of the Simpsons, I went for it.

Soon I found myself listening to both albums all day long (I like them equally, the reason I chose “Infinity On High” for this is that I still can’t pronounce “Folie a Deux” properly. And the cover looks really fab.) and it didn’t take long till I found out about the rest of the holy trinity and became full on emo trash. No regrets though.

Favourite song: Don’t You know Who I Think I Am?

Favourite lyrics: “Baby, seasons change but people don’t”

 

“The 1975” by The 1975

The_1975_(album)_by_The_1975While I was still discovering more pop punk bands such as Paramore, Mayday Parade, Blink-182, You Me At Six, BMTH and so on, I also started to get into some alternative music.

To be honest, I was sort of confused when I first listened to The 1975 because their sound was so different from what I was used to, but after a few more listens, I was hooked. Even though I’m currently playing their new album on repeat, their debut album will always remain one of my faves and I’m pretty sure I’ll be forcing my children and grandchildren to listen to it if I ever have any.

Favourite songs: Robbers, Sex

Favourite lyrics: “It’s just you and I tonight / Why don’t you figure my heart out?”

 

“The Fray” by The Fray

Thefrayst2Aaaand another amazing self-titled album! This one has a very special place in my heart and reminds me of spring air, sitting on top of a hill, poetry, a light shade of blue and the smell of freshly cut grass. It somehow almost always manages to make me feel super calm and has the best songs to listen to when you feel stressed and need something to help you relax.

Favourite songs: You Found Me, Syndicate

Favourite lyrics: “Happiness feels a lot like sorrow / Let it be, you can’t make it come or go / But you are gone – not for good but for now / And gone for now feels a lot like gone for good”

 

“Chaos and the Calm” by James Bay

JB_CATC_Cover_PRINT-ONLY_FINALJames Bay is one of those artists that are doing what they’re doing with an incredible passion which I feel like you can always tell when listening to their music.
Therefore, I instantly fell in love with his songs when hearing his EPs, listened to them over and over again and even made a countdown till the day his album came out. And as soon as it did, I was obsessed with it.

A few months later, I also went to see him live at a very small gig at a record store, bawled my eyes out when he played “Let It Go” and still made him laugh about one of my horrible jokes afterwards (“Oh James, you’re always making us cry! It’s like we can’t hold back the river!”), which is certainly a memory I’ll never forget.

Favourite songs: If You Ever Wanna Be In Love, Let It Go

Favourite lyric: “I need the sun to break, you’ve woken up my heart / I’m shaking, all my luck could change / Been in the dark for weeks and I’ve realized you’re all I need”

 

“Blurryface” by Twenty One Pilots

unknown.pngOn to a slightly different genre now: Twenty One Pilots are another band I only found out about thanks to the wonderful world of tumblr and, once again, I couldn’t be more thankful for that.

Emma also mentioned this album in her video and explained that it has changed her perspective on music in some way which I feel like sums it up pretty well.

What makes this band so special is probably that they don’t only have the most extraordinary sound, but their songs also have the most thoughtful and amazing lyrics. Basically, they combine two of my favourite things on earth: music and poetry. What’s there not to love?

(I actually just came up with a brilliant pun about this, here goes: One of the albums I love most in the world is the most recent one by Twenty One Pilots – it’s my Blurryfave!)

Favourite songs: We Don’t Believe What’s On TV, Heavydirtysoul

Favourite lyric: “The songs on the radio are okay / But my taste in music is your face”, “I don’t care what’s in your hair / I just wanna know what’s on your mind / I used to say I wanna die before I’m old / But because of you I might think twice” (I had to choose two, there’s no way I could’ve decided on one, soz)

 

“Blue Neighbourhood” by Troye Sivan

unknown 2I’ve watched Troye on Youtube for ages, so I was obviously very excited for his new music, but this album honestly blew me away.

Everything fits together so perfectly and although the songs are all great individually, listening to the album as a whole is an even more incredible experience because if you really pay attention to the music, it literally makes you forget about your own reality and get lost in Troye’s world.

Favourite songs: Youth, Heaven, for him.

Favourite lyrics: “You make my heart shake, bend and break but I can’t turn away / And it’s driving me wild”

 

“Rumours” by Fleetwood Mac

unknownIt’s a bit ironical that the two albums I’ve only grown to love quite recently are actually the oldest ones on this list, but the thing is, I used to hate music from the 60s, 70s and 80s when I was younger. I have no idea where that hatred came from, but it went as far as me covering my ears whenever my parents put on their older music, so if my past self would know that I’m now just as much into that kind of music as my parents are, it’d probably be absolutely gobsmacked.

Anyways, the reason I got into Fleetwood Mac is essentially cause I was reminded that they, alongside with the Stones and The Beatles, are Harry Styles’ favourite band. Since Harry always seems to know what’s good, I picked up “Rumours” the next time I went to my local record store and was immediately amazed by how good it is. I actually love it so much that I’ve been scribbling Fleetwood Mac lyrics on every surface I can find and would even go as far as saying that “Rumours” is in my top three albums of all time. And that’s saying something.

Favourite songs: Songbird, Dreams, Go Your Own Way

Favourite lyrics: “And I wish you all the love in the world / But most of all, I wish it from myself. / And the songbirds keep singing, / Like they know the score, / And I love you, I love you, I love you, / Like never before”

 

“Abbey Road” by The Beatles

unknown 3.jpgDespite having liked the Beatles for quite a long time, I’ve only started to be really obsessed with their music a few weeks ago. Nevertheless, I couldn’t resist to add them to the list because “Abbey Road” is honestly all I’ve been listening to for days now.
This album is perfect from start to finish and should frankly be in everyone’s CD collection. Apart from that, I can’t stop thinking about the fact that Ringo Starr only ever wrote one single Beatles song and decided he wanted to sing about an octopus. If that isn’t brilliant, I don’t know what is.

Favourite songs: Octopus’s Garden, Here Comes The Sun

Favourite lyrics: “In an octopus’ garden near a cave / We would sing and dance around / Because we know we can’t be found”

 

I suppose that’s it from me then, although I could probably go on for about 50 more pages if I listed all my favourites. However, I’d love to hear which albums you think influenced your music taste the most, so do let me know in the comments if you like! I hope you’re having a lovely time and listen to lots of great music today xx

Leave a Reply

