How To Make Vegan Gingerbread When You Can’t Actually Bake

I love biscuits, cakes and cupcakes as much as the next person does, but, unfortunately, I am completely useless at baking – at least until now!

Since I’ve been in a festive mood for ages and really fancied some gingerbread, I decided to try and make some myself. When I told my mum about my plan and asked her to get the ingredients for me, she stared at me completely terrified, knowing that this would probably end in an absolute disaster. Nevertheless, she was kind enough to organise everything I needed and also offered to assist me, mostly because she wanted to make sure she’d be there to safe my life in case I set the kitchen on fire (thanks mum, love you).

After putting on a lovely playlists with songs to sing along to, I started mixing together the ingredients, but, to my horror, the first little catastrophe was already around the corner. Instead of the soy milk I needed for the dough, my mum had accidentally bought some kind of weird soy caramel dessert that had the oddest texture I’ve ever seen.

At this point, I was already so overchallenged that I wanted to give up altogether, but my mum quickly came to rescue with a brilliant idea and suggested to simply add some coconut milk in order to create a slightly less weird consistency. I’m not gonna lie, the mixture didn’t look too palatable at first (I don’t wanna ruin your appetite by saying it showed a strong resemblance to a cow’s diarrhoea, but it kinda did), however, when I tried it, I was indeed pleasantly surprised.

Even though the entire kitchen is now covered in flour and sugar, I somehow managed to finish my gingerbread without causing major damage, and I don’t wanna be smug about it or anything – but it’s literally the best thing I’ve eaten in my entire life. (That’s an exaggeration, but it’s all right, trust me.)

Therefore, I feel like it’s only right to share the recipe for this accidental, but absolutely delicious creation with you guys as well!

 

Ingredients

  • 5oog plain flour
  • 1 pack of baking powder
  • 200g sugar
  • 2 tsp gingerbread spices (make sure you get good ones, they’re probably the most important ingredient as they give the most aroma to the gingerbread!)
  • 4 tsp cocoa powder
  • 4 tsp oil
  • 15oml soy caramel rice dessert (sojade)
  • 150ml coconut water

I can imagine that it might be difficult to find soy caramel rice dessert and coconut water, so you can replace these two ingredients by simply adding 250ml of soy milk, or even normal milk in case you don’t mind using dairy products if that’s more convenient. 

Method

Now, all you have to to is fill everything in a bowl and either knead it with your hands or dash it by using dough hooks. If your dough is still too gooey after a great deal of mingling everything, just add some more flour and put in a few more millilitres of coconut water or soy milk if you feel like it’s too crumbly.

image1 2

Once you’re happy with it, grab a baking tin and baking paper and get the dough out of the bowl and onto the baking dish. (In case you wanna get a bit more creative, you can also use cookie cutters to give your gingerbread lots of different shapes.)

When you’re done, don’t forget to evenly dispense the mass cause it’ll most probably get burned if it isn’t spread consistently. Now it’s time to put everything in the oven and wait for about 15-20 minutes before taking it out again. Then, you can easily cut it in tiny bits. Pro-Tipp: I know your gingerbread probably smells and looks absolutely marvellous by the time you get it out, but do yourself a favour and leave it to cool down for a couple of minutes before trying it – your tongue will thank you for it, honestly.

If you like, you can now decorate your gingerbread with icing, sprinkles, food colouring or whatever else your heart desires. Personally, I didn’t make it that far because I was way too busy eating half of it already, but never mind that!

image1

Do let me know in the comments if you try this recipe, I’d love to hear whether you like it as much as I do. Hope you have a lovely start to the advent season xx

Leave a Reply

