Falling In Love With Strangers And Embarrassing Myself On Public Transport (Story-Time!)

Do you ever sit on the train listening to music and watching other people in your compartment when you suddenly spot someone really fascinating, stare at them throughout the entire ride, develop the biggest crush on them and are left broken hearted when they get off because you’ll never see them again? That’s what happens to me at least once a week.

You can presumably either completely relate to this and are thinking something like “YES YES YES; SHE UNDERSTANDS ME” right now or you are utterly weirded out already, in which case I am terribly sorry.

Anyhow, I’m gonna recount some of my funniest and, most importantly, embarrassing moments with cute strangers on public transport now, so feel free to laugh at me because you’ve certainly got all reason to. I promise you’ll feel a lot less socially awkward compared to me, so have fun reading! πŸ™‚

The Karaoke Encounter

Alrighty, let’s start off with a classic. It was a wonderful school-day in spring, the sun was shining without it being too hot, I had just gotten two A’s in my favourite subjects at school, had talked to my favourite people and was taking the bus home where my mum was already preparing pizza for lunch. Couldn’t get much better, innit? My mood was on such a high note that I just had to put on my headphones and listen to One Direction on maximum volume to celebrate my happiness. I couldn’t believe my luck when I saw a bloke looking just the same as Niall Horan sitting only two seats away from me and was even more chuffed when I noted that he kept smiling at me during the entire bus ride. Little did I know the reason for his amusement… until it eventually hit me – I had been singing the lyrics to “What Makes You Beautiful” for the entire bus ride without even noticing. BABY, YOU LIGHT UP MY WORLD LIKE NOBODY ELSE, THE WAY YOU FLIP MY HAIR GETS ME OVERWHELMED!

The “Nearly Kiss”

It doesn’t sound all bad if you only read the headline, does it? The sad truth is, it was beyond bad. Basically, I was peacefully sitting in my seat listening to Ed Sheeran and reading a book, when a guy stepped in and sat right across from me. He had his headphones on as well and looked as if he was kind of lost in a daydream which somehow made him seem even more interesting. After awkwardly staring at him over the top of my book and wondering what he might be thinking about for about 5 minutes, it was time for me to get off. To make sure I won’t miss my stop, I stood up quite early to make my way to the door when the train suddenly jerkily stopped Β for no reason at all – which caused me to fall and land head-first on top of the stranger, my cheek crashing against his jawbone in the attempt to at least prevent me from accidentally kissing him. After I had said sorry at least 50 times, he fortunately recovered from his shock, mumbled something like “It’s all right” and grinned at me until we arrived at my stop.

The Bag Incident

As you can already conclude from the story before this one, brakes really don’t seem to like me. A few weeks later, I was once more on my way back home from a little shopping tour through Cologne. Actually, I found quite a lot of things which is why I carried 3 huge bags with me, one of them a big cardboard one with those kinda sharp edges. No prices for guessing which one I smashed right into the face of the lad sitting next to me when I tried to get up and the train stopped dead once again…

The Puking Drug Addict

The first part of this actually doesn’t really have anything to do with having a crush on someone or anything like that but it’s so cringeworthy that I simply can’t leave it out, so here we go: It was a Friday afternoon; school had just ended and I immediately went to the station where I wanted to catch the train to the city to go to a little meet-up of some German youtubers I absolutely loved at the time. Obviously, I was super excited to finally see them in real life which is why I didn’t think much of it when I started feeling a bit sick. It’s perfectly normal to feel a little nauseous when you’re nervous, right? So I took a deep breath and got onto the train when I saw the two exchange students from Taiwan and Mexico from my grade who had only arrived a few days ago sitting right next to the door. Despite not having talked a word to them before, I thought to myself “Oh, that’s a good opportunity to connect with them, they seem nice and I could do with some distraction from my queasiness anyways” and spontaneously decided to say hello and sit next to them which turned out to be one of the worst ideas I ever had. At first, everything went quite well and we even chatted a bit until I slowly felt my sickness gettingΒ worse and worse. Only a few stops before we reached central station, the train went faster and it happened – I threw up all over the seat, the aisle and myself. Most of the people sitting beside me hastily rushed out of the compartment but the two girls were nice enough to stay with me although one of them seemed as if she was close to emulating my deeds whereas the other one kept throwing tissues at me.

While I was still struggling to overcome this dreadful experience, the next one was already awaiting for me. Exactly one week later, I wanted to go to another meet-up and, how surprising, once again didn’t feel all too well. Nevertheless, I somehow managed not to vomit on the train but when I had just begun to believe that it was over, I spotted a youtuber standing only 3 metres away from me on the platform. And guess what – I got so outraged and jubilant that I puked right on the floor with a huge crowd of people standing around me. And when I thought it couldn’t get any worse, a father pointed at me and said to his son: “Oh gosh, just look at those drug addicts and drunks, they can’t even hold in their own spew anymore, how disgusting. And she can’t be much older than 14 as well, what a sad, sad existence for a girl at such a young age! This is why you should never take drugs, my dear.”…

Do Β you have any similar stories to tell? I’d love to hear some of your awkward or funny encounters as well, so feel free to share them in the comments below! x

Leave a Reply

